Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Audio, Navigation, Electronic
Albert69
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:14 pm

Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by Albert69 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:10 pm

Hi, i'm off on a French road trip next week and thought i'd program my Sat Nav with all the important destinations i'm driving to and I've hit a brick wall straight away. I'm trying to program Plymouth Docks into it with the postcode PL1 3EW but the sat nav won't accept this. I've got a TOM TOM VIA 135 sat nav and the postcode was recognised straight away. Seems a shame i might have to attach this to my windscreen when i have a perfectly good sat nav built in. What am i missing here? Why won't postcode PL1 3EW enter on my Cactus sat nav?

Your help is much appreciated.
CITROEN C4 CACTUS BLUEHDI 100 S&S MANUAL FLAIR


sjhaycroft
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:03 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by sjhaycroft » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:28 pm

Tried it without the space ?


Albert69
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:14 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by Albert69 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:38 pm

Space or no space it should accept the postcode. Yes I've tried it. I think i'm going to rely on my TOM TOM sat nav for my road trip as i'm not confident at all with my Cactus sat nav. The interface is very clunky and so slow. TOM TOM you just enter the postcode and your away. Shame really, but I think i'll leave the LCD screen with either the radio or heater settings on so it looks like the built in unit has got some use...
Last edited by Albert69 on Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
CITROEN C4 CACTUS BLUEHDI 100 S&S MANUAL FLAIR


sjhaycroft
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:03 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by sjhaycroft » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:54 pm

I've had it with mine in the past where it doesn't recognise the postcode right away but then I've tinkered with it and it's found it. I'm guessing it's just that one postcode it's having trouble finding?


The2ems
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:26 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by The2ems » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:36 am

Did you select the correct map? I live in Wales, but when I go to Birmingham I have to select the map for England.
PureTec 82 manual, Flair, Shark Grey, Black air bumps


The2ems
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:26 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by The2ems » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:30 am

I have just tried it on mine, and it worked. But only if I used a space.
PureTec 82 manual, Flair, Shark Grey, Black air bumps


Albert69
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:14 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by Albert69 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:39 am

Thats very strange. Wonder why that postcode won't work on mine with or without a space. As a note, i've just updated my UK and French maps to the latest version (111 i think) using MapCare through my Citreon account. It updated successfuly but i i wonder if that may have something to do with it...
CITROEN C4 CACTUS BLUEHDI 100 S&S MANUAL FLAIR


blackcountrycactus
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:40 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by blackcountrycactus » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:33 am

We had no problems,actually it’s a good sat nav ,it got us here houlgate Normandy,got us to bayeux ,honfleur,no problems last year going to mont saint-michel

7B06B9CA-3E17-4810-B2B8-D9DDB13F2C6F.jpeg

Houlgate beach 1st June



Albert69
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:14 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by Albert69 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:40 am

Love Honfleur, a beautiful little town. My little ones loved the carousel there .....
CITROEN C4 CACTUS BLUEHDI 100 S&S MANUAL FLAIR


blackcountrycactus
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:40 pm

Re: Postcodes Not Recognised On Sat Nav

Post by blackcountrycactus » Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:45 am

The honfleur bridge is impressive

578DC662-5653-49F4-8AD8-F6CB0DD0C11F.jpeg



Post Reply

Return to “Electronics and In Car Entertainment”